bisayabloggers

Blogging About Islam

In Uncategorized on November 10, 2005 at 1:09 am

Blogging About Islam
*article from INQ7 YOU Blog Addicts


SAY hello to our YOU Blog Addict of the Week, Diandra-Ditma Macarambon a.k.a. BabyPink.

Could you tell us something about yourself? When and why did you start blogging and who got you hooked?

I am 25 years old. I am a graduate student at UP Diliman and I’m also working as an online English teacher.

I started blogging around December of 2003. I didn’t really know much about blogs until Ala Paredes told me (through a Friendster message) that her dad had a blog and I might want to check it out. At that time, Jim Paredes’ entry looked like it was a lesson so I thought that was what blogs were. You know, something like a place in the cyberworld where teachers and professionals (or famous people) talked about current activities and development in their lives.

When I checked Mr. Paredes’ links, I found the link to Ala’s blog. I checked it out and that was when I realized and found out what blogs were really. I read through her archives and the more I read the more I felt that starting my own blog would actually do me a lot of good. But, mainly, I wanted to blog because I wanted my suppressed ideas, opinions and thoughts out and free. I wanted to express myself.

What makes a blog better than a regular website? Did you try putting up your own site before you started blogging?

Like I said, I never really knew much about blogs or personal websites before seeing the Jim Paredes’ and Ala’s blogs. Before my blog (it’s my only blog, actually), I’ve never tried putting up anything on the Web. I was really clueless. And, after I started my blog, I became obsessed with making it look more “me” so I experimented (trial and error) with HTML and all those things. It was a good thing that Blogger’s really user-friendly.

I think that a blog is better than a regular website because in a blog, you have an excuse to actually rant and rave, whine and complain, and just write anything you want to write. It’s a place for your thoughts and ideas. And, basically, it’s for your own consumption. A blog is very personal. I see it as a vehicle for freedom.

I actually don’t know much about regular websites and how the content is chosen, but I think it’s more impersonal than a blog. Regular websites I see actually show or offer the owner’s interests or interest in a certain stuff. It’s something like you don’t really see the owner’s “person” in regular websites.

Would you say that blogging is very addictive? How many people have you convinced to also start blogging?

Yes. Blogging is very addictive, especially when you’re just starting. It’s actually funny because sometimes your mind is almost always on blog mode or something. Like you see something while you’re out, commuting or walking and you automatically process everything as if you were writing an entry for your blog. I’m not sure, though, if everyone goes through that phase.

I’ve convinced around six or seven of my friends to start blogging.

How has blogging made a difference in your life?

Blogging made a difference in my life in that it has given me confidence not only in writing, but in expressing myself as well. I’ve never really been the type who’d feel comfortable to share my “pieces” with other people. But, blogging changed that and it feels great. I’ve also become more respectful of other people’s ideas and less sensitive about what others may think about my thoughts. After all, we cannot please everyone.

Blogging also has been my medium to share about my culture (the Meranao and Islamic culture), about my faith, and about my experiences as a young Moro woman. It’s always nice to be able to share something. It is a way to actually make people understand and show that we may have different beliefs and customs, but we are all the same really.

What blogging software do you use? What makes it better than other blogging services?

I use Blogger. I haven’t tried or checked any other blogging service so I wouldn’t know the difference. Blogger is really user-friendly. This is why I never moved to other blogging services.

What’s the most memorable experience you’ve had in the blogging world?

Meeting my blog friends in person. It’s great how you meet for the first time, but you feel like you’ve known one another for years. I, especially, will never forget how I became friends with the Jim Paredes through blogging. I’ve loved him and APO for as long as I can remember and sometimes it’s just overwhelming to think that, now, he actually knows I exist and I’ve met him and I’ve become friends with his daughter. It’s been really great. Joey G. Alarilla, INQ7.net

Visit Diane’s blog.

  1. congratulations! “,)

Leave a Reply

